Learning As I Chop

Summer Soup

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on June 14, 2010

To me, nothing says summer like gazpacho. It’s easy to make, delicious, nutritious and provides several portions. A novice, I’ve only made this soup once before and used a recipe a friend gave me from epicurious.com. Though it was good, I could’ve done better. H and I also agreed that small pieces of hard-boiled egg, for which the recipe called, detracted from the soup’s appeal. I know from experience that people in southern Spain add hard-boiled egg to many of their dishes, but it wasn’t for us. So, I turned to my always reliable back-up, the J of C.

This recipe, though pretty straight-forward, called for a gadget I had never used before – a food processor. I know it’s crazy, but we didn’t have one in my childhood kitchen. Knowing I would eventually need to incorporate this basic tool into my cooking, I registered and received a great Cuisinart food-processor for our wedding. H, being the supportive husband that he is, removed it from the box and nicely arranged it for me. All I had to do was add the ingredients and push “on”. Yet, I was nervous. Here’s the processor before its first chop:

H and I pushed the button together and watched the onions and parsley become smaller and smaller. It was so easy! I don’t know why I waited so long. The recipe also called for 2.5 lbs of peeled, seeded and minced tomatoes. I have become a master at preparing those babies. H, though trying to work,  got into sucked into the fun and decided to help. Here’s a picture of him pouring tomato juice into the mix:

The gazpacho then entered the refrigerator for two hours of chillin’. New to blogging, and very excited to eat my bowl of summer soup, I forgot to take a picture of it before dinner. So here’s a picture of the bowl, minus two portions. The best part? Gazpacho gets better the long it stays in the fridge, so I’m excited for tomorrow’s bowl for lunch.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly @ Healthy Living With Kelly said, on June 14, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Looks great! Very summer-esque!

  2. Marcus Neiman said, on June 14, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Mmmm. Apples in the gazpacho! How interesting!

  3. […] Now I’m not saying I’m perfect. Of course I stray more than I’d like. The above factors do affect me just like as they do everyone else. I’m only human. But at the end of the day, I wanted to share how a simple sentence has impacted me in a not-so-simple way. I’ll leave you with a picture of yesterday’s lunch. Perhaps you’ll recognize it from here. […]


Leave a Reply

