Learning As I Chop

Lemon and Rosemary Cookies

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Farmers Markets by R @ Learning As I Chop on June 15, 2010

Knowing I love to cook, bake, eat and shop at the farmers market, a family member recently gifted me this magazine.  I obviously read through it and earmarked some pages right away:

This cool magazine has lots of helpful tips and interesting recipes, but I especially love the way the writers categorize their information by month. They present recipes for fruit and vegetables that will ripen during June, July and August.  Deciding it was time for something sweet, I focused my attention towards the Lemon and Rosemary cookies. This recipe seemed simple enough, was a new treat for me and let me use one of my new toys, a Microplane, to make lemon zest:

Every cook knows that you must read the entire recipe before beginning. This way you know how much time you will actually need and what bumps you may encounter along the way. Blog friends, I forgot to follow this simple and elementary step. I skimmed, rather than read, and let my confidence overtake me. So somewhere around Step 3, I let out a big “aw man” from the kitchen (H jokes that I can be quite oratory while working), and realized that I needed to roll and refrigerate some dough logs for two hours before baking. Luckily, we had wax paper on hand, and the night was still young, so I was able to forge ahead.

Two hours later, I pulled the logs from the fridge and arranged them for cutting. Issue #1 – for some reason, one log crumbled while the other managed to stay adequately in-tact. Next go-around, I’ll add additional time, so maybe three rather than two hours of fridge-time. In the spirit of full-transparency, here’s a picture of the crumbs:

Issue #2: – To save some calories, and make the cookies a little healthier, I decided not to add turbinado sugar to the tops before baking.  Combine this with Issue #3 – the cookies were too savory for my taste –  my executive decision was a poor one. Maybe next time I should make the recipe “as is” before I play around with it. The consistency was ok, albeit a bit crumbly, but I think the rosemary too strongly overpowered the lemon.  Verdict? If I ever make these cookies again, I might mold them a little differently and serve them as scones. In the meantime, though the cookies didn’t provide the evening dessert I had planned, I did learn a few new things.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly said, on June 15, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Oh my…YES PLEASE!!! Those cookies sound wonderful!


Leave a Reply

