Learning As I Chop

When on Cape Cod…

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on June 22, 2010

As you know,  H and I just returned from a few days on Cape Cod. Besides swimming, biking and relaxing, we also ate very well. When on the Cape, do as the Codders do – eat lobster.

Now there are many ways one can accomplish this task – you can eat a fresh one at a restaurant, have yours in a soup (such as delicious lobster bisque at the Chatham Squire) or on a roll – either deli-salad style or warm with drawn butter (particularly good at the Lobster Pot in Provincetown). Having tried and enjoyed all of these options, we decided there was one more to comquer – cook some yourself.

The NY’ers that we are, Annie Hall’s “lobster scene” immediately came to mind.  One city couple in the country on a mission – a lobster dinner served farm to table, or should I say tank to table. We picked two 1.25 lb lobsters from George’s Fish Market (this place is awesome), together with the traditional sides of fresh corn and potatoes. And of course there was butter. Lots and lots of butter.

H and I purchased the lobsters and made a few more stops before returning “home”. It’s amazing (albeit probably a little cruel) that lobsters can stay out of water and in a bag for at least a day before cooking. It definitely felt a little creepy to know that live lobsters were in the back of our car; however I decided to toughen up and act like a true Codder. Once we came home, we took care of business (i.e., refrigerating the beer and setting up the puzzle) and then focused on our task at hand.

I won’t lie. I couldn’t do it. H and I agreed to take care of our own lobsters, but when called to task, I chickened out in a major way. I don’t know but the claws and antennnae just freaked me out. H, seeing my fear, took my crustacean and did it for me. What a guy. Above is the end result. For about $35, we were able to dine on fresh lobster, corn, potatoes and beer. All in the comfort of our pj’s, while watching the NBA finals on tv.  Sounds like vacation to me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly said, on June 22, 2010 at 11:52 am

    haha…I probably couldn’t have done it either! 🙂

  2. Fish Tacos « Learning As I Chop said, on June 25, 2010 at 10:33 am

    […] decided to eat a lot more fish at home. We tend not to cook shellfish (except for our adventures here), so chose to focus on creatures with scales instead. I haven’t cooked a lot fish, and H […]


Leave a Reply

