Learning As I Chop

Comfort Foods

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Food Philosophies by R @ Learning As I Chop on June 28, 2010

After a long week, I decided to make one of H’s favorite dinners – meatloaf. Yes, another Betty Draper staple. I won’t go into the recipe or strategy, since it’s pretty straightforward – I always use the J of C recipe and bake the meatloaf in my Emile Henry loaf pan. Never fails to please. I also didn’t think meatloaf would make for very beautiful pictures. Lets focus on the sides instead.

When serving meatloaf, I usually add salad and smashed potatoes. The first time I made my salad for H, he asked why the lettuce was missing. Now he’s grown to love it. Based on Mediterranean flavors, my salad is very simple – tomato, cucumber and onion (red or white) chopped into bite sized pieces. Sometimes I’ll add avocado, red pepper or grated carrot, but it’s usually those three ingredients. Then I dress the bowl with red wine vinegar, olive oil, a touch of lemon juice, salt and pepper. It’s good to prepare the salad first and let the juices soak into the vegetables. And of course one must not underestimate the importance of fresh ingredients. Summer salads always taste better.

But back to the potatoes. Admittedly, this is H’s recipe but he said I could share. Here goes:

7 potatoes (we don’t peel them but you can if you’d like)
1 stick of butter
1 small pint of heavy cream
salt and pepper to taste

Boil the potatoes till they are soft, then drain and mash with the last three ingredients. Serves 2 with a good amount of leftovers. Simple yet delicious. Of course they are not diet friendly but I am a firm believer that a little bit of butter is good for you. Above is a pic of the potatoes before serving. Enjoy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly @ Healthy Living With Kelly said, on June 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Yum…mashed potatoes rock!

  2. missyrayn said, on June 28, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I don’t really like mashed potatoes but Hunni loves them so I make them adventurous when something special happens. He likes the fun flavors I add like herbs and spices.

    But I’m a wimp and uses the kitchen aid to mash them.


Leave a Reply

