Learning As I Chop

Potato Salad Gone Wrong

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on July 1, 2010

Last weekend, H and I were invited to a potluck BBQ in honor of the solstice. Of course I was excited to add some kind of interesting dish to the mix. Normally I make this 3-bean salad that my friend recommended, but decided to try something new. Due to my fascination with the Food Network, I had recently seen Rachael Ray make an interesting type of potato salad with green salsa. I thought it looked different, yet healthier than the mayo-based version, and would be fun to try. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:
2 pounds Idaho potatoes, peeled and cubed into bite sized pieces
Salt
4 scallions, whites and greens, chopped
1 1/2 cups prepared salsa verde

Preparation:
Cover potatoes with water, bring to a boil, salt water and cook until just tender, 12-15 minutes. Drain potatoes and dry out by placing back in hot pot for 1-2 minutes. Transfer the potatoes to a bowl and combine with scallions and salsa. Serve or chill.

The Saturday of the BBQ was very busy and I needed to cook at a family member’s house. Truthfully, I hate cooking in other people’s kitchens. I never know where anything is and that makes it stressful for me. But I decided to forge ahead because it was potato salad, which is relatively easy. Of course, like a true chef, I brought my own tools (knife and peeler) with me.

It’s important to note that this was my first time making potato salad. Thankfully H is good in the kitchen and I was able to ask him handy questions such as “do I chop then boil, or boil then chop?” So I got to work. A few things went wrong. 1) The pieces I cut were too small. This combined with 2) I got called away from the kitchen– which means the potatoes boiled longer than needed- resulted in mush. They turned into the type of potatoes prime for mashing; not for salad. I noticed how soft they were but chose to ignore it. I figured good flavors would hopefully mask the poor texture.

Then I added the green salsa. I didn’t have time to make my own, and I think Rachael said pre-made would be fine, so I splurged and went with an expensive brand. I wanted to bring something high quality to the BBQ. Unfortunately this salsa was way too spicy. My mouth was on fire. I thought I was wimpy so I gave it to H to try. He’s usually good about spices but also agreed that it was too much. So, I’m embarrassed to say it, but the salad went in the garbage. I hate wasting food but there was really no other choice. Distraught, I even forgot to take pictures. Not wanting to come empty handed, we stopped at Dunkin Donuts and picked up bunch of munchkins instead. Next time I’ll be making the bean salad.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly said, on July 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I have honestly never made a Rachael Ray recipe….which is crazy because they are all relatively easy and look really good! Sorry the salsa was too spicy for dish…


Leave a Reply

