Learning As I Chop

How About Some Hummus?

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on July 7, 2010

I’ve eaten a lot of hummus in my life. In fact, I would venture that it was probably one of my first foods. Given this experience, I wouldn’t call myself a hummus connoisseur (feels wrong to use such a fancy word for such a simple food), but I definitely know the real deal. I’ve eaten many salad plates of hummus, swirled in a circle, with some tahina, olive oil, parsley and paprika in the middle. Of course there was always an accompanying side of pickles and olives. That meal was a constant staple of my childhood. I therefore refuse to eat any store bought hummus, other than Sabra, and only recently have begun calling it hummus, as opposed to choo-moose, as said in the Middle East. The snob in me has subsided.

The other day, with a can of chickpeas sitting in my cabinet, it occurred to me that I could make some from scratch. That realization, combined with the 100 degree weather, inspired me to prepare hummus, pita and salad for dinner. After finding a straightforward recipe, and scouring my neighborhood for raw tahini, I got to work.

2 cups drained well-cooked or canned chickpeas, liquid reserved
1/2 cup tahini, optional, with some of its oil
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus oil for drizzling
2 garlic cloves, peeled, or to taste
Salt and black pepper to taste

1 tablespoon ground cumin or paprika, or to taste, plus a sprinkling for garnish
Juice of 1 lemon, plus more as needed
Chopped fresh parsley leaves for garnish

1. Put everything except the parsley in a food processor and begin to process; add the chickpea liquid or water as needed to allow the machine to produce a smooth puree.

2. Taste and adjust the seasoning (I often find I like to add much more lemon juice). Serve, drizzled with the olive oil and sprinkled with a bit more cumin or paprika and some parsley.

This recipe took about 5 minutes to make and is super delicious. I didn’t even need the salt or pepper for seasoning. After buying prepared hummus for many years, I will never go back. It is so worth it to spend a few dollars for the tahini, and a few minutes with your food processor, if you want quality stuff. As someone who’s had a lot of hummus in her life, I definitely recommend this dish.

(More picture problems. Images coming later tonight)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly said, on July 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    Love hummus but I am bad about just buying pre-made! 😦

  2. R @ learning.as.i.chop said, on July 7, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Well, now you have a great recipe to try!


Leave a Reply

