Learning As I Chop

What do you eat for breakfast?

Posted in Food Philosophies by R @ Learning As I Chop on July 30, 2010

H is one of those rare people that truly eats to live. Sure, he has his favorites (mostly meat-based dishes), and will usually try anything I make, but 90% of the time he eats because he’s hungry or knows his body needs food. I, on the other hand, am not like that at all. I wouldn’t say I live to eat, but I definitely love food. On average, I’d say I spend at least 1/3 of my day either thinking, reading, planning, making or eating food. I go to bed thinking about breakfast, and plan dinner while eating lunch. Needless to say, I am not one of those people who can forget to eat. I just don’t understand those who can.

But lately I’ve hit a wall. I’m bored, especially with breakfast. While I was following the plan described here, I settled into a tried and true breakfast of two hard-boiled eggs and ½ of a banana with almond butter. It wasn’t the most exciting breakfast but I could carry it with me to work (I eat my breakfast while checking my emails and settling in for the day) and it covered most food groups –especially protein.  Protein is my challenge. I have to push to meet my daily minimum.

So, I need help. During the week, what do you bring for breakfast? I’ve tried oatmeal, and while I love it, I need more variety. Weekends are fine – you can usually find me making French toast or oatmeal pancakes – but the weekdays are harder.  So leave some ideas for me, and I will pick my favorite. The winner will be prepared and written about in the coming weeks.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jbk said, on July 30, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Green smoothies!! Easiest breakfast in the world. It takes 5 minutes to throw everything in a blender. They’re portable too–just use a thermos! And greens like kale & collards are great for protein if you’re concerned about that.

    I usually go with a 3 to 2 ratio of fruits to greens. 3 cups fresh & frozen fruit (depends on what’s on hand: bananas, strawberries or blueberries, peach, mango, grapes, pineapple, etc.) and 2 cups greens (spinach, kale, collards, chard, lettuce, etc.; start with 1 cup at a time until you’re used to it though. spinach is the least noticeable, lettuce is the most distinctive). I also usually throw in a tablespoon of chia seeds for omega-3s. For liquid, I just use a cup of water (sometimes more, if it’s too thick).

    Sometimes I make a double batch and store the excess in the fridge (or thermos) to drink throughout the day as a snack.

    • R @ learning.as.i.chop said, on July 30, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      Silly question, but can you also do this in a food processor?

      • jbk said, on July 30, 2010 at 10:37 pm

        Never tried it, but I don’t see why not. I know that some blenders will give you a “smoother” smoothie than others, depending on how powerful they are. The same thing probably applies to food processors.

  2. Smooth Operator « Learning As I Chop said, on September 3, 2010 at 10:37 am

    […] July 30th, I posted a request for new breakfast ideas. A generous reader posted this […]


Leave a Reply

