Learning As I Chop

Cheesey Goodness

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 4, 2010

I was at the farmers market on Saturday when I happened upon some leeks. Leeks are one of those vegetables that always intimidated me. I don’t know why, maybe because we never ate them growing-up, but I always steered clear. I thought they would be hard to cut and cook and I would inevitably go wrong.  But then I read Emily’s recipe for a potato-and-leek bake, and I knew it was time. Time to conquer the fear. Her bake looked delicious and I appreciated the step-by-step pictures. So I purchased the leeks and gathered my courage. Here is my usual chopping picture

And here are the pretty leeks all cut up and ready to go

Low and behold, leeks are surprisingly easy to use. I decided to ditch the cumin and just saute mine in olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder. As I’m not that familiar with cumin, I turned towards the safe route. Leeks were already a new experience for me, and I didn’t want anything to ruin this dish. I put everything into a bowl with about 8 diced yukon gold potatoes, 3/4 cup gruyere and 2 cups of milk. In my excitement, I forgot to take a picture of the mix. Doh! But I did manage to taste a piece of sauteed leek before it went into the casserole dish and it was delicious. Why was I was so afraid?

The bake went into the oven for 45 minutes at 375. I made some salad and watched Seinfeld with H while we waited. I checked on the potatoes after 45 minutes and though the potatoes were soft, the milk hadn’t absorbed. I decided to take off the casserole cover and see if that would work. 30 minutes later, the milk had somewhat evaporated but not fully. I decided to eat it anyway. Verdict? Dish is good and leftovers will provide for a nice side to tomorrow’s dinner. But I think I should’ve seasoned the potatoes a little bit more. Must learn not to hesitate when it comes to salt and pepper…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] goes” kind of day. And then I saw the leeks. Now that I’ve gotten passed my leek fear, I actually really like them. They are pretty use to use and taste lovely. Thus potato leek soup […]

  2. […] goes” kind of day. And then I saw the leeks. Now that I’ve gotten passed my leek fear, I actually really like them. They are pretty easy to use and taste lovely. Thus potato leek soup […]


Leave a Reply

