Learning As I Chop

Home vs Professional Chefs

Posted in Food Philosophies by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 5, 2010

As you know, I chronicle my home chef adventures on Learning As I Chop. Nowhere near a gourmet, I am a novice who’s trying to work her way up the food chain. H and I love watching cooking shows, especially since they provide lots of tips and inspiration. So I was excited when he told me about a new one called Master Chef.

I’m normally not a Gordon Ramsay fan (nothing personal, Gordy, just can’t get into Hells Kitchen) but I’m liking this new show. I love the idea of the home chef, who will be judged on passion and flavors, rather than the use of liquid-nitrogen or esoteric food items. I’m also hoping they’ll teach some basic techniques, from which I can learn.  Have you watched this new show? Thoughts? Hope you enjoyed the trailer!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Master Chef, The Next Food Network Star is about giving a professional opportunity to home-chefs. Love it! H […]

  2. […] started by chopping and preparing the onions. After watching Master Chef this week, I tried really hard to cut them evenly and with precision. Not great, but better than […]


Leave a Reply

