Learning As I Chop

Quick Quesadillas

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 13, 2010

The other day I was looking for a quick, easy, tasty and budget friendly dinner. Voila! Quesadillas. How I’ve forgotten about those friends. They take so little time and are delicious. Per usual, I perused through Epicurious. Nothing fancy – just wanted something  simple with no-fail instructions. Here’s what I found:

Chicken Quesadillas
3 1/2 cups shredded cooked rotisserie chicken (from a 2 1/2-lb bird)
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 large onion, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced
5 oz coarsely grated Monterey Jack cheese (with or without hot peppers; 2 cups)
8 (7-inch) flour tortillas

Special equipment: a well-seasoned ridged grill pan
Accompaniments: sour cream; salsa; fresh cilantro sprigs
Garnish: lime wedges

Sprinkle chicken with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.

Cook onion with remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper in oil in a 10- to 12-inch skillet over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until golden, about 6 minutes. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 1 minute, then transfer to a large bowl. Add chicken to onion mixture along with cheese.

Put 1 tortilla on a cutting board and spread 1/2 cup chicken mixture over half of tortilla, then fold other half over to form a half-moon, pressing firmly on seam. Assemble 7 more quesadillas in same manner.

Heat lightly oiled grill pan over high heat until it begins to smoke, then reduce heat to moderate and grill quesadillas, 2 at a time, turning over once, until cheese is melted and golden brown grill marks appear, about 4 minutes total per batch. Transfer with a spatula to cutting board and cut in half.

I started by chopping and preparing the onions. After watching Master Chef this week, I tried really hard to cut them evenly and with precision. Not great, but better than before.  A good knife is part of the key.

As mentioned, I was interested in speed and didn’t feel like cooking a chicken. Listening to the recipe, I purchased a rotisserie chicken from the market. Not my favorite, since you can’t control what kind of chicken (free-range etc), but it had to do. Here’s the bowl of mixed ingredients

(Not sure why these pics are so dark.)

No grill pan in the house, so I needed to make-do with a regular skillet. Besides the lack of grill-lines, I think we did just fine.

Here’s the final product. I paired the quesadilla with black beans, fresh tomatoes and sour cream.  Avocados had been intended, but something funky happened to them. I’m usually pretty good about picking avocados so I’m thinking this was just a bad apple, hardy har.

Nevertheless, I  definitely recommend this recipe. Easy to make and fun to eat! Enjoy!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heather said, on August 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    i adore quesadillas more than i could even describe! your griddle marks are so good on here…looks perfectly done to me!

  2. Marcus Neiman said, on August 13, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    I like tacos.


Leave a Reply

