Learning As I Chop

Encounters with the Broiler: Part 2

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 17, 2010

Kebabs were on Friday’s menu. H requested them and I knew I needed to get past my fear of broiling. Last time’s debacle taught me a few things. Namely that I need to open the kitchen window in order to avoid clouds of smoke. So I put on  my bravery cap and got to work.

First step? You guessed it – turning to the J of C. Honestly, that book has everything. I had thought of my own chicken marinade but turned to the book for reassurance. Happily, it suggested many of the ingredients I had considered on my own. So I chopped up the chicken into cube-sized bites and covered them in a marinade whisked together with olive oil, lemon juice, red wine vinegar, parsley, salt, pepper and garlic powder. The chicken soaked up the juices while I prepped the veggies. Here’s a nice picture of the vegetables. I used red and green peppers, tomatoes and onions.

Once all of the chopping was complete, I began to assemble the kebabs. (Apparently you need to soak the wooden sticks for a little bit so they don’t burn in the broiler.) One by one, I pierced the ingredients onto the sticks, alternating between veggie and chicken. As learned through my obsession with cooking shows, I tried hard to cut the pieces uniformly so they would cook evenly. This is one technique I’m going to focus on improving. After all of the protein had been used, I took the remaining marinade and drizzled it over the kebabs. Felt so professional! The kebabies before the broiler:

Into the fire they went. H helped with this part. In fact, he was so dedicated that he sat on the floor near the broiler and checked on them every few minutes. What a guy! Once we deemed them done, the kebabs were served with some couscous. Such a delicious and healthy meal! Can also be done on the grill, if you’re lucky enough to have a backyard. Enjoy!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heather said, on August 17, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    i love kebabs, they’re so delicious and completely versatile! i’ve never made them with a broiler before, that sounds like a must-try!

  2. Marcus Neiman said, on August 17, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    My J of C is Jesus of Christ.

  3. Anna said, on August 17, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Yum! I love kebabs!! And I love my Joy of Cooking too!


Leave a Reply

