Learning As I Chop

Who Wooda Thought?

Posted in Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 19, 2010

We received lots of goodies for our wedding, including this pretty wooden bowl.Always looking to improve our table settings, I was so excited to use it. Together with our wooden salad tongs, it would make our meals look so pretty! Just like in the movies! We eat a lot of salad (accompanies most of our meals), so I began using and washing this bowl quite often. Yes – I said washing. And left on rack to dry, just like any other dish.

Things were going swimmingly until I discovered a small crack on the side. “No big deal,” I thought. It’s getting broken in. A little worn with love. All the better.

Until a crack appeared on the bottom as well. Although I wasn’t the one who noticed it; H did. He discovered the crack when a nice mixture of olive oil, lemon juice and vinegar started seeping through the bowl and visiting our table. Lovely. Time to return it.

It took a few days, but I finally made it to the store from where the bowl came. Innocently, I showed them the bowl and asked for a replacement.  I wasn’t looking for something for nothing. I just wanted a new bowl and to carry on with my dining room fantasies. The clerk took one look at the bowl and asked

“Did you wash it?”

“Why, yes,” I replied.

“Mistake #1,” he said “You need to towel dry the bowl immediately after cleaning.”

Oops! Although I didn’t appreciate the tone with which he chastised me, and believe me he did. Not a very friendly clerk, if you ask me.

The manager came along, took one look at the bowl and said “this bowl is not broken. It’s obvious you never oiled it.” Oops #2! So what did I do? I pulled the novice card. “I’m sorry, I didn’t know,” I pleaded. “Please just give me a new one and I’ll take better care of it.”

Seeing my saddened face, the manager made a phone call to their main office. After a few minutes of nail biting, the store decided to do me a favor and I’m getting a new one. I also left with one of these tins tucked into my purse

Apparently one is to use this oil for all things wooden, especially bamboo. So readers who love their wooden accouterments, don’t make the same mistake as me. You might not be as lucky. Wash, dry and oil with love. Otherwise you’ll be cracking up.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on August 19, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    This is great to know. Bee’s oil is the bee’s knees!


Leave a Reply

