Learning As I Chop

A Long Time Ago In a Galaxy Far, Far Away

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 22, 2010

A few days ago, H and I were wandering around the city and decided to stop into Williams Sonoma.  H happily happened upon these interesting friends

He had read about these cutters and was excited to actually find them in the store. A few minutes later we exited, new purchase in-tow. This morning, H was a determined man. He asked me to whip-up the batter (which I was happy to do for him –  how could I not support this endeavor?) and he would cook em up. Admittedly, H and I are not huge Star Wars fans (I mean, we like the movies but aren’t about to attend any conferences), but were excited. For those of who don’t recognize the  players, we have a Storm Trooper, Darth Vader and your friend and mine – Yoda.

We don’t have a large griddle pan so H decided to use our George Forman (it comes with a griddle plate).  At first try, we realized the plate was a little too slanted. This meant Yoda’s face was falling down and he was getting wrinkles, hardy har. Gravity will do that to ya, Yod. So H improvised and put a small book under the Forman to level it off. He’s a smarty. Here you see it:

So we tried again. Things were going well.

But then they went wrong. We don’t know what did it, but we’re thinking they need a real fire under them. Love ya, George, but we’re not grilling chicken here. This a serious mission. So we didn’t wind up eating Darth Vader’s face. More like bits and pieces of his helmet and Yoda’s ear. Oh well, there’s always next weekend…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Liz said, on August 23, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Oh, I will have to look for these. I am not a SW fan (haven’t even seen the movies), but DBF is a HUGE fan… this would be a nice surprise for him sometime. Thanks for sharing!

  2. maeve said, on August 27, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I have a round egg-shaper and I have found that I need to spray all around the inside w/ cooking spray before using. That might help!


Leave a Reply

