Learning As I Chop

Smooth Operator

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on September 3, 2010

On July 30th, I posted a request for new breakfast ideas. A generous reader offered this suggestion:

Green smoothies!! Easiest breakfast in the world. It takes 5 minutes to throw everything in a blender. They’re portable too–just use a thermos! And greens like kale & collards are great for protein if you’re concerned about that.

I usually go with a 3 to 2 ratio of fruits to greens. 3 cups fresh & frozen fruit (depends on what’s on hand: bananas, strawberries or blueberries, peach, mango, grapes, pineapple, etc.) and 2 cups greens (spinach, kale, collards, chard, lettuce, etc.; start with 1 cup at a time until you’re used to it though. spinach is the least noticeable, lettuce is the most distinctive). I also usually throw in a tablespoon of chia seeds for omega-3s. For liquid, I just use a cup of water (sometimes more, if it’s too thick).

Sometimes I make a double batch and store the excess in the fridge (or thermos) to drink throughout the day as a snack.

I’ll be honest – I was nervous.  Greens for breakfast? In a thick liquid? Would this satisfy me? Would I have to force it down? So, I put if off for about a month. But lately I’ve been feeling  a little tired and some friends suggested that I need to eat more green vegetables, specifically leafy ones. So I ventured into the world of spinach and I’ve been liking it so far. If it’s good enough for Popeye…

Spinach on hand, I knew this week was the week.  I also had some blueberries that were walking towards the trash. Time to use em or lose em. Luckily, I married a man who entered our partnership with almost any kitchen gadget a girl could want.  We even had a deep-fryer at one point. So this morning he pulled down the blender and I gathered my ingredients:

I didn’t feel like turning on my computer and checking the recipe so I improvised.

1 cup blueberries

1 cup strawberries

2/3 of a banana

½ cup spinach

A splash of milk

A few ice cubes

Truthfully, I wasn’t sure what to expect. There was a small part of me that was thinking I’d need the food processor. Could this blender really dice strawberries? (I know what you’re thinking and the answer is no – I’ve never made a smoothie before. Yes, I live under a rock.) I also decided to go light on the spinach. I didn’t want any kind of over-eagerness to result in a “too-green” smoothie that would consequently turn me off forever. So I pressed the button and watched what happened. Voila! The beautiful concoction above. And honestly? It was de-li-cious. So good, so nutritious and so refreshing. You couldn’t even taste the spinach. It’s not even 11am, and I’ve already had 1/2 a cup of spinach. I think I might be on to something here… Thanks JBK!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on September 3, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Smooth move!

  2. jbk said, on September 4, 2010 at 7:56 am

    So glad you tried–and enjoyed–this! 🙂 It really is a fantastic way to get lots of nutrients in. I’ve even got my husband drinking green smoothies every day (and he was someone who wouldn’t touch either fruit or leafy greens with a ten foot pole); and on the days we don’t have them for whatever reason, he readily admits that he doesn’t feel as energetic.

  3. Sunday Soup « Learning As I Chop said, on October 6, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    […] the soup to blender conversion. I really didn’t expect this to be difficult, but it was. I blend things fairly regularly, so I was surprised when I realized that my blender could not handle this soup. More than once, the […]


Leave a Reply

