Learning As I Chop

How About I Take You Out For A Steak Dinner?

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on September 9, 2010

The other day H had a hankering for steak, and since he’s been such a good H lately, I try to do what I can for him. Here’s a secret – I don’t really eat meat. In fact, I haven’t eaten it in months. But I still cook meat because H enjoys it and I like trying all kinds of recipes. We budget extra for free-range, antibiotic-free etc, in order to compromise. Plus, to each his/her own. So I decided to take this steak opportunity and visit my local butcher shop. We’ve lived in our neighborhood for about 1.5 years, yet this store had always eluded me. Something about its neatness and organization was pretty intimidating. I felt like I really needed to really know my meat in order to enter. But then I read The Butcher and the Vegetarian, and it gave me the confidence to put my foot in the door. So when H asked for steak, I was excited for my adventure.

I entered the shop on a Friday afternoon and was truthfully a little underwhelmed. I expected all kinds of cuts and options but they barely had a thing.  There were also no lists of recipes or tips to be found.  After hemming and hawwing for a few minutes, I left with a piece of NY Strip. Apparently that’s not a top choice. Oops! You live, you learn…

H was due home around 7pm and I wanted everything to be perfect for him. I prepped some salad , barley and fixins, and decided to pre-heat the broiler

20 minutes later and the smoke alarm was blaring, again. Turns out you don’t need to pre-heat a broiler. Did you know that? When H came home, there were clouds of smoke invading our apartment. I learned that you only need to turn on it and it’s ready. Works like an upside down grill. Nevertheless, the steak (seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder) entered the broiler for 6 minutes, per the butcher’s instructions. (Instructions that took way too much effort to receive.) Above is the end result. A little fatty, me thinks. Oh well, first time for everything…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lara said, on September 10, 2010 at 10:32 am

    I’m always iffy with steak/beef b/c I’m never sure how to cook it (i’m a griller, it’s simple LOL) but I never thought of broiling it until now. And 6 mins, that seems like a killer time! (except if you want well-done and then you can leave it in there overnight, right? LOL)

  2. Liz said, on September 11, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    My grandpa always jokes that the smoke alarm is like the dinner bell… my grandma has a tendency to overcook things 🙂

    Another tip for broiling, be sure to leave the oven door cracked while you’re cooking. If you keep the door closed, you are half-broiling, half-baking because it keeps all the hot air trapped inside and doesn’t cook just from one side like grilling. I’m pretty sure it was Ted Allen that “told me” that LOL


Leave a Reply

