Learning As I Chop

I’m Popeye the Sailor Man…

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on September 13, 2010

A little while ago I wrote about my push to eat more leafy greens.  Sure, spinach is pretty good sauteed, and I’ve found a way to sneak it into my smoothies, but I need more variety in life. So when I was searching through recipes for the New Year, I was excited to find spinach patties. These babies come from Persian cooking, and are served on Rosh Hashahah to celebrate the spinach harvest. Healthy, tasty, traditional and in-season? I was hooked. I won’t give you the recipe since it comes from here (I feel there must be some copyright issue there), but I will say it involves a nice amount of cooked spinach, onions, garlic, salt, pepper, breadcrumbs and egg. Think of it like a spinach meatball, sans meat, and choose your own proportions.

Here’s the spinach being sauteed in the pan. I just love how spinach shrinks down. Seeing all of this green also made me feel like I was being kind to my body

Once you sauteed the spinach, you add of your other ingredients and then fry them a few at a time in the pan. Ok, maybe not the healthiest way of cooking but I already feel you’re ahead in terms of the ingredients. I used vegetable oil, and then blotted when done, but I’m thinking I might try olive oil next.  Once you’re done, serve pretty immediately. Fried food + too much time = soggy unhappiness

I was pretty happy with these patties and H liked them too. In fact, I think they might become a new holiday staple in our home. A good way to get in some green veggies but still enjoy something comforting for dinner. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on September 13, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Ooh, I’ve had something like this from Dr. Praeger, but never homemade ones! Tasty!


Leave a Reply

