Learning As I Chop

Use What Ya Got

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on September 24, 2010

H was at a professional meeting last night, so I was alone for dinner. Normally I use a solo night for cooking experimentation, but there were a few factors at play.

1) You might’ve noticed that LAIC has become a little slower. Well, it’s because I’ve decided to begin an adventure called Grad School. Night classes means less time in the kitchen which translates to less sharing on LAIC. But never fear readers, LAIC is here to stay. I might post a little less frequently, but will still be around a few times a week.

2) H ordered take-out two nights ago, so I had some lovely leftovers in the fridge. But here’s the thing – it was gnocchi and barely an appetizer size was left. So what’s a girl to do? I decided to dress up my pasta with what I had at home- spinach and chickpeas. (The chickpeas were a result of our recent and awesome trip to Costco, but that’s for another time.) I figured those two ingredients would add a nice amount of green and protein to a carb heavy dinner.

Just a simple saute in olive oil, salt and pepper. Nothing fancy since I could submerge them in  the gnocchi sauce.Two minutes in the microwave and the pasta was ready. Toss together and voila! A simple meal in five minutes that was arranged through a little creative combining.

Not the most beautiful dinner I’ve prepared, but delicious nonetheless.

Before I began dinner, I also decided to clean the fridge. H and I try to do this once a week and I think we’re pretty successful. So it was a nice surprise when I found a pint of heavy cream, teetering on the brink of expiration. What’s a girl to do? Why, make whipped cream of course!

A nice little surprise for when H returned home. Whipped cream + strawberries + love + good tv = happiness! Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life said, on September 24, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    I love how you used multiple leftovers to make a full meal – great idea!


Leave a Reply

