Learning As I Chop

Sunday Soup

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on October 6, 2010

I recently turned 30 and received this beautiful piece of architecture from my mother.  Need to give H credit,though. He’s the one who communicated how much I had been coveting one of these items, and suggested the color to match my Emile Henry bakeware. Admittedly, the pot sat on the oven for a little bit. Not because I didn’t love it, but because I was scared. What if I ruin one of my most prized possessions? Stain in? Break it? Burn it?

But after a few weeks I decided enough was enough. I wasn’t going to let fear prevent me from using such a generous and thoughtful gift. So I did the usual – turned to the J of C and decided upon soup. I’ve also decided to dedicate Sundays to soups, since I can eat them throughout the week. Even though I love food, I also love habits and can happily eat the same soup for days in a row. Especially when it’s homemade and delicious, like tomato soup. The J of C recipe was surprisingly simple and easy. Here’s what you need

You actually need to double those tomato cans, but why crowd the picture? Here’s the soup in the Dutch Oven, which of course went off without a hitch and brought me much happiness

Then came the tricky part – the soup to blender conversion. I really didn’t expect this to be difficult, but it was. I blend things fairly regularly, so I was surprised when I realized that my blender could not handle this soup. More than once, the soup exploded and popped-off the blender top. Lovely soup splattered onto the wall and cooking surfaces. (H – if you’re reading this, I managed to clean-up everything quite nicely.) Eventually I just gave up and decided that some of the soup would just have a little more texture than the rest. I also learned why they invented immersion blenders. This gadget is now on my “to-buy” list.

We paired the soup with some roast chicken (to be described in a future post) and a nice greenbean casserole prepared by H. The soup was “eh.” I mean, it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great. I think cream needs to added next time. As is, it tastes, in H’s words, like canned tomatoes and onion mixed together.  Not bad, but not exactly soup material. I can’t disagree. But let’s focus on the positive – I used my new Dutch Oven and loved every second of it. So I’m going to call this meal a success!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] potatoes nad stock, and voila! I even got to use my new immersion blender! After reading about my need, H purchased one as a surprise. Smart thinking, as we both wound-up loving this […]

  2. […] even got to use my new immersion blender! After reading about my need, H purchased one as a surprise. Smart thinking, as we both wound-up loving this soup. I have to […]

  3. Stylin’ « Learning As I Chop said, on December 9, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    […] and interesting dishes.Through home cooking, we’d create a home.” Yet somehow, besides my ode to my dutchoven, I haven’t discussed the topic of servingware. So since I am knee-deep in finals, and […]


Leave a Reply

