Learning As I Chop

ICE

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on October 13, 2010

A few moons ago, my best friends gave me a generous gift certificate to ICE (The Institute of Culinary Education in NYC). Not only was  I touched (these girls know me so well) but I was also super excited to use it. Well, life got busy and I needed to postpone a little. I also knew H would really enjoy coming along. So I waited until I found a course and date that would work well for us. It happened recently and we took this class

Couples are Sushi Lovers

Culinary instructors Vicki and Steve Caparulo will teach you everything you need to know about equipment, technique, and presentation to make a beautiful assortment of sushi and maki rolls. You’ll use both sashimi-grade fresh fish and a selection of cured and cooked seafood. You’ll prepare a meal of Miso Soup; California Roll; Smoked Salmon and Snow Pea Roll; Spicy Tuna and Scallion Roll; Philadelphia Roll; Hawaii’s #1 Surprise Sushi Roll; Smoked Sardines, Cucumber, and Scallion Roll; Inside-Out Salmon and Asparagus Roll; Steve’s Spectacular Mosaic Roll; Inside-out Rolls with Edible Flower Petals; and more.

When we first arrived at ICE, I was surprised by how fancy people were. I mean, who gets dressed to get dirty in the kitchen? I felt way un-stylish in my t-shirt and jeans. However once I got past my fashion faux-pas, I was excited to begin. We started the class by snacking on cheese and edimame, and learning some basics about sushi. Did you know that sushi means the sticky rice? No fish or egg needed. Here are some pictures from the evening. It was a lot of fun

Both H and I commented on the fact that the tools were simple. Nothing fancy but worked well. Goes to show that you don’t need to spend  a lot of money to create success in the kitchen.

Notice the red triangle on the package? You should get either the red or blue type of nori. If you get into metallics – silver or gold – the nori gets very high quality. However high quality, in this case, means harder to use and apparently comes out tasting weird.

I love sesame seeds on my sushi and was surprised by how easily the seeds stuck to the rice. Making them look pretty was another story…

See the flower petals? I was too chicken to try them but they do look pretty

There’s H cutting his asparagus. I love his meticulousness

Here’s the beginning and mid-stages of my maki. What’s a roll without avocado?

Once you roll your maki, you cut it into halves and then half those halves. Make sure to wipe your knife  each time or else it gets too sticky from the starch.

Can’t take credit for these babes. They were created through H’s sushi prowess. Mine were a little messier

Overall it was a really fun night and I enjoyed trying Asahi beer. This is coming from a girl who always orders plum wine. I would definitely go back to ICE and am thinking baking might be next. If you are interested in sushi, don’t be afraid. It’s actually easier than it looks. Well easy to make, but hard to roll well.

Enjoy!


4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on October 13, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    nICE post! Wish I could have been there too!!

  2. Anna said, on October 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I’ve always wanted to take a sushi-making class! Fun!

  3. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun said, on October 14, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I love sushi! How cool to pick up some tips and tricks to make it your own.

  4. […] NJ. So yesterday, as we traveled to see  friends in Princeton and make our own sushi (now that we know how to do it), I decided it was time. Time to visit this amazing […]


Leave a Reply

