Learning As I Chop

Breakfast for One

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on October 16, 2010

Every Friday, H and I eschew plans (unless they are a must) and spend a quiet evening at home. These nights often involve a home cooked meal by me, flowers from H and a nice chunk of bread called challah.  We each eat one or two slices  and then the rest is left for the weekend.

I hate wasting food so feel compelled to be creative with the remaining loaf. This usually leads to challah french toast on Saturday or Sunday. I have small fantasies of following this tradition every weekend until my future children are 18 and leaving for college. But let’s first start with this weekend

Now what do you do when your partner isn’t in the mood for breakfast? Sometimes yummy dishes, like pancakes, must be made in batches. Or, you can scale down the recipe and make french toast for one.

Recipe:

1/3 cup milk

2 eggs

1 tbsp sugar

1/8 tsp salt

Heat your skillet and coat with butter or cooking spray. Dip your bread in batter and brown each side.

Serve immediately.

I like to pair my toast with a fried egg or bit of fruit, the newspaper and a good cup of coffee.

This breakfast takes 15 minutes to make and is heaven, especially good in the cooler months. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Apicius' Apprentice said, on October 17, 2010 at 10:09 am

    French toast with challah bread? I’m going to have to try this! Also, I love the knife in your picture. It look like the end of a fiddlehead fern 🙂


Leave a Reply

