Learning As I Chop

Food I Don’t Like

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Food Philosophies by R @ Learning As I Chop on October 21, 2010

I don’t know why I force myself to eat food that I don’t like. Maybe it’s because I aim to be “healthier” or have a more well-rounded/adventurous palette. However I often find myself in the same precarious position – what I want to eat vs what I should eat. I don’t know why this is such a problem for me, as I like various healthy dishes that include things like spinach and chickpeas. But most leafy greens elude my taste buds. They are “not for me,” as one might say. And yet I force myself to eat them. I’ve now decided it’s time to stop, and here’s the reason why.

Cannellini Bean Soup with Kale

Ingredients

  • 6 to 8 cloves garlic, thinly sliced, plus 1 or 2 more whole cloves
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 (6-ounce) can tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 quarts chicken stock, water, or a combination
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 large bunch kale, large ribs removed, chopped

Directions

Heat oil in a large pot. Add garlic and oregano and cook no more than a minute. Add tomato paste and vinegar, and cook another minute. Add beans and stock and bring to a simmer. Season with salt and pepper. Add kale and simmer, partially covered, for 1 hour. Season, to taste, again with salt and pepper before serving.

Technically, there is nothing wrong with this soup. I found it on the Food Network, and if you like kale and oregano, I am sure you will love it. It’s also pretty easy to make. However, as I ate this soup, spoonful after spoonful, I kept asking myself what I was doing. I don’t like kate, I definitely don’t like oregano and yet I keep forcing it down my throat. Sure, it was nice to use the beautiful purple kale I found at the green market

But who I am kidding? This isn’t me, and it sure as heck isn’t H either. So kale, it was nice knowing you, but we’re done. I’m gonna stick with some other tried and true paramours instead.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on October 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Didn’t anyone suggest to you that this would taste bad?

  2. Tracy said, on October 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Try Swiss Chard! Leafy, green but not as bitter and wilts easily. Tastes great with garlic and oil (and a rare steak).


Leave a Reply

