Learning As I Chop

Shortcuts

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on October 26, 2010

Lately I’ve been taking lots of shortcuts. Normally I aim to be thorough, but with school, work and life, time-savers tend to be needed. This means some store-bought pre-marinated chicken or frozen veggies from a bag. Not terrible – I mean, it’s not a Lean Cuisine – but not ideal (at least not to me).

This weekend was spent in the country. We visited some farms, ate good food and wore scarves. It was a crisp kind of weekend, and we wound-up itching  for some pumpkin. Just seemed right. We stopped by a great organic foodstore on our way home and headed to the baking section. I wanted to pick up some pumpkin and follow the recipe on the can (H’s idea, suggested while I asked him to find a recipe on his phone). However H requested that I use the mix above instead.

I’ll admit it, I was dubious. Even H’s typical “but it’s organic” argument wasn’t working. But then he got smart and showed me the back. You can’t argue with the ingredients.

Yes, I see the cane juice (which made me nervous – what is cane juice?) but the rest seemed pretty innocent.  I decided to compromise.

We also picked up a few cartons of these gems. Have you seen the yolk of a local, natural egg? As orange as can be. That’s how you know it’s the real deal.

So we went home and I got to work. After 3 or so steps, I was done. It was kind of incredible. See the other shortcut? A pre-made crust. Pie crust, and well dough in general, is on my “to conquer” list. This crust is actually vegan (according to its wrapper), which truthfully made me a little nervous.  But it tasted OK.

Not the best pumpkin pie I’ve had, but it’ll do. I think I prefer pies that feature pumpkin  + something such as Paula Deen’s pumpkin pecan pie or pumpkin cheesecake (a Thanksgiving favorite in our home). Good thing Thanksgiving (aka my favorite holiday) is only weeks away! In the meantime, I have apple cakes to perfect.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on October 26, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    That pumpkin pie looks perfect. Wish I could have some tonight!

  2. Apicius' Apprentice said, on October 26, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    The pie really does look perfect! I know what you mean about being skeptical of labeling… looking forward to seeing how you conquer apples!

  3. sari said, on November 8, 2010 at 1:23 am

    almost every pumpkin recipe i’ve used calls for canned pumpkin. it really is just a WHOLE lot easier and often alot better than trying to use fresh, supposedly. and i say supposedly, because I would probably chop my finger off if i tried to actually carve and scoop out and cook (in what order I don’t even know!) an actual pumpkin.

  4. […] the recipe called for pre-made enchilada sauce so I bought some Old El Paso cans. Remember my shortcuts? Nope, not planning on becoming the next Sandra Lee, but when the J of C says do something (even if […]


Leave a Reply

