Learning As I Chop

A Different Kind of Pudding

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on November 8, 2010

Following my recent apple cake post, I’ve decided to share another recipe that comes from perusing food blogs. This one hails from Eat Live Run and definitely had me curious. I’d never made pudding before and this one is extra intesting – it’s tofu-based. I was intrigued. Here’s what you need for success, blender included.

Jenna’s recipe calls for chocolate soymilk (to make it purely vegan), instead of regular dairy, but since I had chocolate syrup and milk in the house, I decided to be economical and use what we had. Plus, I really couldn’t see myself using soymilk past this recipe, which only calls for 1/2 cup. Didn’t want to be wasteful.

I got to work and began mixing the ingredients. I’ll be honest – as I progressed, I became more and more dubious. I started regretting choosing my own adventure and wondered if chocolate soymilk was needed for more than principle’s sake. Things were looking a little too, well, curdled for my liking

More of the usual “we might have to abandon ship” was coming from the kitchen. I am losing my bravery. Where is it going? But I decided, for journalism’s sake, to full steam ahead. So I blended  the mix and things were looking up. Final result is above.

This recipe is quick to prepare (10 minutes max) and then cools and sets in the fridge while you make dinner. Super chocolatey, a few spoonfuls will leave you satisfied. Through truthfully I am not sure I’m a tofu-pudding kind of person. It was good but a little too grainy for my liking. Not sure how else to explain it. However, if you’re vegan, I definitely recommend this dessert. Tastes pretty close to the real (0r dairy) thing. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna said, on November 8, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    For being a vegetarian for almost a year, and very vegan-curious, I’ve never had tofu pudding! I’ve heard good things though… 🙂


Leave a Reply

