Learning As I Chop

Don’t You Wanna, Enchilada?

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on November 11, 2010

The other night, H and I were discussing dinner options when I innocently suggested enchiladas. Sure, I had no idea how to make them, or where to start, but I’ve seen them around and they appear quite the hit on the dinner circuit. H agreed so I went to the J of C and found a recipe. I was happily surprised to find that I already had many of the ingredients on hand. No wonder this is such a popular meal – you can create most of it by shopping in your pantry! In a nutshell, you need corn tortillas (but I bet you can use flour ones instead), chicken (or whatever protein you’d like), canned tomatoes, seasoning (cumin, chili, red pepper), onion and cheese, if it suits your fancy.

For some reason, I thought the recipe called for pre-made enchilada sauce so I bought some Old El Paso cans. Remember my shortcuts? Nope, not planning on becoming the next Sandra Lee, but when the J of C says do something (even if it actually doesn’t), I follow. I was excited to realize that I’d actually be making my own. Perhaps my first one ever? Very simple, as long as you have a blender or Food Processor.

You also have to prepare the corn tortillas and I learned a new trick – place the tortillas on foil, paint with vegetable oil, cover with foil and stick in the oven for 5 minutes at 400 degrees. This quick trick will soften the tortillas and make them easy to roll, which is actually quite fun.

Another reason this dinner is easy to make? It’s fast. Once the prep is done, only takes about 15 minutes to melt the cheese in the oven. So if you have the ingredients on hand – homemade sauce, shreddeded chicken and cheese – should take no time at all. Maybe even a good dinner party food? We had ours with black beans, fresh avocado and tomato. Quite delicious and filling on a chilly Fall night. Enjoy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    These look delicious! Like a restaurant dish!

  2. Anna said, on November 12, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Yum!! I love enchiladas!


Leave a Reply

