Learning As I Chop

A Little Bit of Nippon in New Jersey

Posted in Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on November 21, 2010

In a previous life, also known as my early 20s, I worked for a Japanese boss who taught me many things about his culture. One perk included eating at some of the finest Japanese restaurants in NYC, where incredible dishes (that I would never think to order) were selected  by others and placed in front me.  I was also told about this little jewel of Japanese culture in Edgewater, NJ. So yesterday, as we traveled to see  friends in Princeton and make our own sushi (now that we know how to do it), I decided it was time. Time to visit this amazing place

Walking inside, I felt as if we had been transported to another country. It was awesome.

Display signs were in both English and Japanese

All the miso, rice vinegar and pre-packaged fish a girl could want

Visiting “another country,” where we didn’t know the language, definitely brought its problems, and we were forced to use visuals in order to understand some of the packaging. For example, through pictures, we were able to distinguish sushi rice from regular rice. It also helped that there were some friendly Japanese and English speaking customers around us.  Not sure we’ll always be so lucky…

Points to anyone who knows what this says

I honestly  could’ve spent all day at Mitsuwa, but we had people to see, sushi to make and  unfortunately picked an incredibly busy day, due to a Bluefin special. This meant the parking lot was a mess, and H needed to “make our own spot” in order to get into the supermarket. So we raced the clock, hoping to buy our items before a parking ticket ensued. Sometimes a small car and renegade husband really come in handy. But I digress…

As I checked out, H ran around the store and took a few more pictures. Desserts abounded.

Lastly, here’s a shot of some of our loot and the beautiful avocados we used for our maki. Quality produce to boot? I am sold.

(This picture really doesn’t do these avocados justice. They were flawless.)

So anytime you have a hankering for dashi, and some time to kill, I definitely suggest making a visit to Mitsuwa. Lacking a car? No problem. Apparently they run a shuttle bus from the train station. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on November 21, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Awesome post! I’m gonna schedule a trip there soon. Did they have Pocky?


Leave a Reply

