Learning As I Chop

Reader Request: Potato Latkes!

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Holiday by R @ Learning As I Chop on December 6, 2010

Tis the season for latkes. As many of you know, we’re in the midst of Hannukah – the festival of lights. Besides displaying our menorahs and spinning our dreidles, we also cook with oil and fry-up latkes or doughnuts, in order to pay hommage to the oil that maintained the temple light for 8 crazy nights. So when a LAIC reader (Ok, I admit a family member) asked if I was doing a latke post, my response was “of course!” I had already been searching for the perfect latke recipe, which in this case meant “classic” to me. No sweet potato or quinoa latkes for me. I wanted ’em down and dirty, and found it through this one from Cooking Light.

Truthfully, I was a little daunted. I had never made latkes before and wanted them to be perfect. Plus, I thought they’d be a lot of work, and since I am currently up to my ears in school finals, I put them off. But I want us to be a cooking family, and create a home through food, so I rolled-up my sleeves and finally got to work. Then when I realized I could use my food processor’s shredding attachment, things got a little easier.

I was done in five minutes. My arm and schedule say “thank you, dear Cuisinart.” Once the potatoes were cut,  they needed thirty minutes worth of draining. Our sink was full of dirty dishes, which I planned to do in those thirty minutes, so I devised a little device. I’m honestly a little proud of it.

See the liquid in the pan? And yes, that mug does play Hannukah music!

After the half-hour passed, I warmed-up the pan, warmed-up the oil and got to work. I also made H come into the kitchen so we could fry our first latke together. Corny, I know

Once they were ready, I blotted the latkes via papertowel and served them together with applesauce. The latkes came out perfectly and it was a wonderful first Hannukah in our home. Enjoy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg said, on December 7, 2010 at 7:45 am

    These look great! What a fun cooking night!

  2. Marcus Neiman said, on December 7, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I am enjoying! I love latkes and menorahs and dreidels! Where’s the sour cream?


Leave a Reply

