Learning As I Chop

The Gift of Food

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on December 16, 2010

I first read about this  cranberry-orange-walnut “bread” a few weeks ago, and put it on my “to bake” list.  So when my mom was about to celebrate her birthday, and after she recently said I was becoming a “super chef” (love her!), I knew this would be a perfect gift. Creative, from the heart and yummy. What more could you want?  Plus, it would give me the opportunity to use cranberries for the first time.

This bread was super simple to make – combine the ingredients, put in the oven and let cool. That is it.

I also learned of the satisfaction gained by giving someone a homemade gift. It’s definitely appreciated and the person’s face lights-up once they realize how much effort and thought was put into it. Not to mention that this bread lets you have fun with your Microplane.


Admittedly, I didn’t try the bread. After it cooled, I wrapped it in Saran and gingerly put the bread into a gift bag with some other goodies. However I think it was a hit, as my mom’s thank-you email consisted of “thank you for the bread. We can’t stop eating it.” I’d say that’s a job well done.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on December 17, 2010 at 7:20 am

    This is a great idea. There might be a couple of these under the tree this year at the Neiman house!


Leave a Reply

