Learning As I Chop

Going Bananas

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on January 4, 2011

What do you do with on-their-way-out  bananas? Surprise your husband and make banana bread, of course. I think baking might be winning my favor. I still love to cook, but on a night when I had no will to make dinner, I found myself elbow-deep in measuring cups and flour. Or maybe it’s because banana bread is that easy. Little work to create something very satisfying. Here’s the recipe I used from the J of C:

Whisk together:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Beat until creamy (I use a hand-mixer):

2/3 cup sugar

6 tbsp butter, softened (I melt mine in the microwave and it works just fine)

3/4 tsp lemon zest

Beat in:

1 to 2 eggs, beaten

2 or 3 mashed bananas

(I used 2 eggs and 2 bananas, because that’s what I had)

Lucky for me, I also had some leftover walnuts from this bread, so I added:

1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Place batter into greased loaf-pan and bake for 1 hour at 350 F, or until a toothpick test comes out clean. Cool slightly, then unmold. Cool completely before slicing.

H arrived home to bread baking in the oven and a relaxed wife. Sometimes carbs, by way of creating, really do the trick. So if you have 30 minutes, and need to unwind, I suggest this recipe. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg said, on January 4, 2011 at 9:55 am

    Mmmm…you really can’t beat banana bread, fresh out of the oven!


Leave a Reply

