Learning As I Chop

Valentines For Your Valentine

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Holiday by R @ Learning As I Chop on February 14, 2011

Always a fan of homemade gifts, I decided to make rather than buy sweets for H this year. At first I thought I would do simple cookies, or a nice cake, but once I saw these truffles I decided to brave it. After all, it’s H. He supports LAIC and is always a willing taster of my trials and tribulations. Plus, since we live in an apartment and are rarely more than thirty feet apart,  my efforts would surely be appreciated. So even if they didn’t taste good, it’d be the thought that counted. Right, H?

Until I realized that I lacked a pastry bag. A first-time chocolatier, I didn’t know I needed one. However H was going for a walk and gladly offered to save the day by purchasing one at the store. Guess this a vice-versa chocolate gift? Nevertheless, I was nervous for my first time with the bag. Seemed like a simple machine, but new devices scare me. Except H couldn’t find a pasty-bag at the store (they often run-out of key products, such as ground beef) so he came home with this instead.

H had the genius idea to empty the icing bag, replace the icing with chocolate and create a make-shift pastry device. Except then he took one look at my chocolate and realized that it wouldn’t fit through the tip. Apprehensive of burning the cream, I  stopped the fire the minute I saw simmering. While the warmed cream softened the chocolate, it didn’t melt it. So pieces of chip were still evident. Oh well. So I improvised and used my hands instead. Rolled them into balls, a la cookie dough and the placed them in the freezer. In the meantime, I created my sprinkling station and homemade double-boiler.

I pulled the truffles from the freezer and got to work. At first I was dainty and used a toothpick, but that method proved futile. I abandoned that idea, and dug my hands into the chocolate. First you cover the balls with another layer of chocolate and then with sprinkles. Unfortunately my little paper cups were too small for most of the truffles (need to make them smaller next time) so I placed them on a plate instead.

The truffles were good, albeit a little too much for me. Perhaps that’s due to the gigantic size I fashioned? I might also play around with milk and white chocolate the next time around. However I’m definitely happy with my first foray into chocolatiering and recommend the treats if you’d like to make something sweet for your sweetie. HappyValentine’s Day to you and yours. Enjoy!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. T said, on February 14, 2011 at 9:40 am

    I love making truffles, what a cute idea! If I’m lacking a pastry bag, I’ll take a freezer ziplock bag, cut a small hole in one corner, and use that as a pastry bag. Works like a charm!

  2. Mary @ Delightful Bitefuls said, on February 16, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I’ve always wanted to try making truffles! Those looks so tasty!!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xx
    Delightful Bitefuls

  3. Sabina Calhoun said, on February 18, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    They look great!
    Invest in a doubler boiler if you are going to be melting chocolate often, it is also good for lots of other deserts and sauces.

    If the truffles are too rich, I agree go smaller, and maybe use coco powder instead of sprinkles to cut the sweetness.


Leave a Reply

