Learning As I Chop

Did You Know?

Posted in Did You Know by R @ Learning As I Chop on March 30, 2011

This weekend, I decided to bake a fully wholewheat version of these muffins. However H had recently cleaned-out the fridge (believe me, I’m not complaining) and my tin of baking powder became a casualty. I had just returned from the store with my needed ingredients – fresh blueberries and an orange for zesting – and didn’t feel  like venturing out again. That is when I realized that my baking soda had made the cut. “Could I use that instead?” I wondered aloud. This lead me to googgle, where I realized that in fact I could. The result? Fluffy muffins that tasted even better this time around.

My little lesson has birthed a new series of posts for LAIC called “Did You Know?” Every time I learn a helpful new tip or tidbit, you will be the first (ok, maybe second after H) to know. Here is our inaugural piece of advice. If you ever find yourself with baking soda but without baking powder, try this equation:

“You need to use 2-3 times more baking powder than baking soda. The extra ingredients in the baking powder will have an effect on the taste of whatever you are making, but this isn’t necessarily bad.” (Source) 

Since my muffins called for 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder, I just used 1/2 and a pinch of tsp of baking soda instead. Worked like a charm and I have the muffins to prove it. Enjoy!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. T said, on March 30, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Those look delicious! I want to eat them! 🙂

  2. sari said, on April 4, 2011 at 10:35 am

    believe you can sub regular milk plus vinegar for buttermilk too. and brown sugar is just white sugar plus molasses, though who keeps molasses in their pantry!?!?!?

  3. R @ Learning As I Chop said, on April 4, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I think some people keep molasses in their fridge. I used to have a bottle. Good for pecan pies.


Leave a Reply

