Learning As I Chop

Choppin’ Onions

Posted in Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on April 7, 2011

H and I love food and cooking shows. We’re pretty open and watch many of them, including but not limited to Top Chef, Two Fat Ladies, America’s Next Great Restaurant and Master Chef. While watching Master Chef last season, I was struck by Gordon’s opinion that if you can’t properly chop an onion, you don’t belong in a kitchen. Ever since hearing that bold statement, I’ve been a little obsessed with chopping onions perfectly. Here’s my method:

1. Peel the onion.

2. Chop off the top and bottom and then divide the onion in half.

3. Follow the grooves in each half, and cut vertically along them. However make sure to leave the very tip of the bottom untouched. As in, don’t slice all the way through. This keeps the onion together and makes it easier to cut.

4. Slice the onions horizontally, resulting in small onion squares.

5. A few loose chops along the cutting board and you’re done.

This system works well for me, but I’m not sure if it’s the official way. Here’s another tutorial that I found. Not sure I’m liking it better but perhaps you will. Either way, enjoy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amanda said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:07 am

    This is exactly how I chop onions! I find that is is the most effective way for me to chop.

  2. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:21 am

    That’s my method too! It’s so effective!


Leave a Reply

