Learning As I Chop

Chag Sameach!

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Holiday by R @ Learning As I Chop on April 18, 2011

Ever hear the saying – wanna make G-d laugh, make plans? Well, this happened to us last week when our family’s Passover seder suddenly moved from my mother’s to our house. Of course, H and I were ready and excited for this last minute change. We therefore dove into our cookbooks, delegated responsibilities and got cooking. Keep in mind, I have never hosted a seder before but knew that a) it would be fun to create some new dishes in our kitchen and b) share with you! My first piece- charoset.

My mom gave me a bunch of ingredients, so I started with those and then looked for a recipe as a guide. Here’s what I found via The Food Network.

2 large apples, peeled, cored and chopped

1/3 cup walnuts, chopped

1/3 cup almonds, chopped

1/3 cup pecans, chopped

1 teaspoon cinnamon, ground

1 teaspoon grated ginger

4 cardamom seeds, crushed

3 tablespoons honey

1/4 to 1/3 cup kosher for Passover red wine

Mix together the apples, nuts, spices and honey. Add the wine and mix thoroughly.

(Don’t mind the beaker of Manischewitz. My mom is a retired scientist.)

After looking in my cupboard, and considering the recipe, I decided on this mixture:

2 apples

1/2 cup walnuts

a handful of apricots

1 tsp ginger

1 tsp cinammon

3 tbsp honey

1/4 cup Manischewitz

I wanted to use the cardamom but had none in my pantry and had never tasted it before. Apparently cardamom gingery and native to India. Someone on Facebook posted about using some in their homemade macaroons (perhaps next Passover?). Oh well, since I was already adding ginger, hopefully the charoset wouldn’t lack too much spice. I forged ahead.

At first I thought that I would chop all of the ingredients by hand, but H thought that made the mixture too chunky. So I turned to my old friend.

It had been a while. My first “dump all in” approach didn’t work so I used the feeder instead. After everything had been processed, I added the spices, honey and wine and had a nice little charoset. For my first try, I’m quite happy with it.

In case you’re wondering, chag sameach means “happy holiday” in Hebrew. Whether or not you’ll be attending a seder, happy Passover and enjoy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marcus Neiman said, on April 18, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Needs apricots.

  2. Lele said, on April 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    This year is the first time I have tried charoset and it is so fun to see the variations! There seems to be a lot of variety in the textures people make it. I have only had it with almond so far but I bet with the walnuts it is good… and I love the addition of ginger!


Leave a Reply

