Learning As I Chop

Did You Know: Buttermilk

Posted in Did You Know, Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on April 28, 2011

When I saw some leeks in the Farmers Market this past Saturday, I decided to make my potato leek soup for Sunday dinner. A quick meal, this soup always satisfies. I read the recipe and prepared to venture out to the market. However when I came upon the need for buttermilk, I was struck with an idea. Rather than purchase a quart, and only use a cup, I remembered Sari’s advice from our first edition of “Did You Know” – I could make my own. And that, my friends, is what I did.

1 tbsp white vinegar + 1 cup of milk + 10 minutes = 1 cup of buttermilk

So how did it turn out? 4 bowls, and a few days later, I’d say quite the success. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

