Learning As I Chop

Penicillin in a Bowl

Posted in Baking/Cooking, Uncategorized by R @ Learning As I Chop on May 3, 2011

“Achoo!!” was H’s first word on Sunday. In response, chicken soup hit the agenda and ingredients were purchased.  H turned to his tried and true recipe, which calls for two chickens! (one whole chicken and one package of chicken parts), plus exciting vegetables like parsnips. I had no idea how to spot a parsnip and needed to google. Do you see them?

 (Apples not included.)

I already had plans for the morning so I bought the soup necessities and told H I’d cook it when I came home (bad wife, I know). However he had a different idea and began working right away. Like a sweet H, he took some pictures for us to enjoy. Spot the chickens?

To me, the cheesecloth is most mesmerizing. Has this beautiful, ghostly quality to it.  How did I find a man who knows that cheese-cloths exist, let alone know how to use one? Apparently H took the silver pot of soup and poured the broth into the red one. The cheesecloth strains the fat while saving the goodness. Once you have your broth, you can add whatver garnishes you desire, such as cooked carrots or chicken.

I haven’t made many recipes from this book but I definitely recommend it if only for the soup. Absolutely delicious and warms your heart in all the right places. Perfect for a rainy day or one filled with a few sniffles. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kelly said, on May 5, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    YUM! Nothing beats homemade chicken soup!!


Leave a Reply

