Learning As I Chop

Fajitas Are Like Mexican Stir-Fry

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on May 6, 2011

I was bone-tired last night but still wanted to make dinner. As a compromise to myself, I decided on a quick, easy and healthy choice – fajitas. However, per usual, I had never made them before. H is actually the fajita king in our house but I wanted to be last night’s chef. So I got to researching.

Fajitas are in fun in the sense that you can choose your own adventures. Pick a protein – chicken, steak, shrimp, tofu etc – and add some veggies. Onion or no onion, it’s up to you. I chose chicken breasts, red and green peppers (or capsicum, as they say in Oz) and onions. Thinly slice your ingredients and you’re ready to go! But I wasn’t really sure how to start so I called to H for some advice. His response? ‘Fajitas are like mexican stir-fry” and I totally understood what he meant.

Like stir-fry, you can play around with seasoning. I took some tips from the J of C and used this combination – a dollop of vegetable oil, a splash of lime juice, some salt, pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes and cumin. For my first attempt, I was pretty impressed. This was the right amount of spice but not overbearing.

Garnish, of course, can also make the meal. I went with my favorite yellow rice, black beans and chopped avocado and tomato. You can eat them in your fajita (like H) or on the side (like me). After a long week, we decided to ‘picnic” on the coffee table. Either way – formal or casual- you’re bound for a tasty and satisfying midweek dinner. Enjoy!

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eleanor W. said, on May 10, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Thanks, R. I appreciate this because for some reason, even though I love Mexican food and love making Mexican inspired dishes (and live in a Mexican neighborhood), I never have made fajitas! They are so easy and I think I will work them into my repertoire. Plus it looks like they make enough for leftovers to bring for lunch.


Leave a Reply

