Learning As I Chop

Returning to DIY

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on May 23, 2011

I’ve fallen into the trap that many NYers know well. $2 for an iced coffee here, $2 for an egg sandwich there. Lots of money being spent on lots of things that you can make yourself, but for which you are willing to fork over extra funding to buy convenience. The other day, however, as I was purchasing an applesauce-based muffin, I thought “this is stupid. I can make these myself, choose my ingredients and save some dough.” And so on Sunday I did.

I used this recipe as a base and changed around a few things in order to create this one:

2 cups whole wheat flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup milk

3/4 cup applesauce

1/4 cup vegetable oil

a handful of fresh blueberries

a bit of orange zest 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease a muffin pan, or use paper liners.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center, and pour in applesauce, milk, and oil. Stir until moistened. Fold in dried blueberries. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

It took me about 10 minutes to put this together and it was super easy.  Was also fun to play around with my preferences. Have a sweet tooth? Add some sugar. Hate bluberries? (Though, really, who hates blueberries?) Use cranberries. Vegan? Just swap the dairy for almond or rice-based milk. It’s up to you.

This morning I wrapped my muffin and tucked it into my purse. As I bought my iced coffee (hey, old habits die hard), I smiled as I looked at the muffins in the case and knew that I had an even better one from home. A perfect way to start my week. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 2cooksinthekitchen said, on June 8, 2011 at 10:08 am

    So good to remember this! It takes a little extra effort and planning, but the savings (and the nutritional benefits of making things yourself) are so important!


Leave a Reply

