Learning As I Chop

Technical Difficulties

Posted in Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on July 30, 2011

Yesterday I had almost finished a lovely post about summer chili (sounds oxy-moronical, I know) but when I turned on my camera, none of the pictures could be found. No idea what happened, but by then the chili was well within our tummies and images couldn’t be reproduced. In case you’re wondering, here’s the recipe I used. It wound-up being quite easy and delicious. You can also play around with ingredients (which I did), using what you have around the house to put together a simple dinner for your family. Plus, since you don’t need the oven, it works well for summer and doesn’t overly heat the house.

Nevertheless, as I sat around bummed about my post-that-was, I got to thinking about technical difficulties. All was lost due to a camera that had let me down. So what happens in the kitchen when other gadgets stop working, or stop working well? I decided to search around for a few places in NYC where you can get things fixed and move right along.

(source)

For example, nothing in the kitchen is worse than a dull knife. It can be completely frustrating to use and creates the sloppiest of cuts. However it’s really not a good idea to sharpen your own knives if you don’t know what you’re doing. Leave it to the professionals:

Broadway Panhandler
65 East 8th Street between Broadway and University
Manhattan/East Village

Henry Westpfal & Co.
115 West 25th Street at 6th Avenue
Manhattan/Garment District

Ambrosi Cutlery
4 Lupi Court
Mahopac, NY

Sur La Table
75 Spring Street at Crosby
Manhattan/SoHo

Bowery Kitchen Supplies Chelsea Market
460 West 16th Street
Manhattan/Chelsea

ABC Knife Grinding Corp.
2954 Fulton Street
Brooklyn/Broadway Junction

(source)

I definitely plan to visit one of these establishments soon, as a few too many curse words have escaped my mouth while chopping vegetables. In the meantime, I’m off to DC to celebrate a friend’s impending baby daughter and won’t be back in the kitchen for a few days. While gone, I hope to fix my weird camera and devour some pink-frosted cake. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sari said, on August 22, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    we got the world’s best knife sharpener as a gift. it is easy to use (but I still make Evan do it – i cannot stand the sound of the diamond edge carving).


Leave a Reply

