Learning As I Chop

For The Next Few Weeks…

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 17, 2011

For the next weeks, H and I will be alternating between the city and this view

Some other perks of this place are H’s new station

And a country kitchen windowsill that excites this city-slicker

Of course new digs mean that I need to take advantage of my spacious kitchen and bake some cakes. Especially since a very special birthday is on the horizon and I need to master my pastry skills. To practice, I embarked on a simple yellow cake with buttercream frosting. Unfortunately the house came with no mixing bowls (weird, right?) so I had to get creative:

Doesn’t the frosting look so beautiful and like ribbons? I love watching cream (whipped cream, frosting etc) thicken. Feels so magical.

My goal for this cake was two layers with frosting in the middle and all around the top and sides. Working on perfecting last year’s creation. I was proud of myself because I played with the recipe, which suggested that I bake one cake for one hour at 350 degrees. Instead I split the recipe into two pans and baked the cakes for half the time – thirty minutes. A job well done, indeed.

And then it happened. After I let the cakes rest, I attempted to flip them over in order to start the frosting. However I must’ve failed to properly grease the pans since one cake wouldn’t budge. After I wrestled with it a bit, I wound-up with this lovely result:

Obviously not what I wanted. Oh well. Hopefully next weekend’s attempt will go much more smoothly, especially since I don’t want to disappoint the birthday boy. Stay tuned for an update. In the meantime, I am getting to know  a new friend. One that will surely be missed once we return home for good. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg said, on August 17, 2011 at 10:12 am

    What a beautiful place!!!

    Boo for cake fails 😦


Leave a Reply

