Learning As I Chop

An Update

Posted in Tips by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 22, 2011

Remember last week when I had some baking issues? I thought I had failed to grease the pan properly so I tried again. Unfortunately, another fail.  Then H stepped-in and suggested using double the butter and a different method. However we were left with the same result. Half on the plate and half in the pan.

It has since been decided that cheap pans were at fault. As a punishment, they met their destinies in the garbage can.  My best friend and I therefore drove to the nearest store and bought a replacement cake. (We also saw a bear cross the road, which for two native NYers was quite scary and shocking. But that’s another story for another time.) In the meantime, I’ve learned my lesson. No more low-quality pans. Only the best for this kitchen. Or, at least a step above from Walmart-purchased worst. Enjoy!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bethberg12 said, on August 22, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Silicone pan liners. Your life will never be the same.
    ~Beth

  2. R @ Learning As I Chop said, on August 22, 2011 at 9:27 am

    Thanks, though I am afraid of silicone in the oven. However I just might need to give it a chance.

    • Jess said, on August 22, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      Make a parchment circle for the bottom of the pan. To make sure it fits just trace the actual pan and cut it out. Then place it in the pan and butter the paper. After the cake is baked the parchment will peel right off. Good luck!

  3. sari said, on August 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    i don’t do silicone in the kitchen either – except for spatulas that i use on cold batter. i suggest butter and flour combos or maybe butter/flour with a round of parchment on the bottom. sometimes you even want to butter the parchment. and if you don’t have spring form pans, get thee some. i have the cheapest supermarket springforms and they work wonders. also make sure to release the spring after it has cooled a moment but before it is completely cool.


Leave a Reply

