Learning As I Chop

Hurricake Irene

Posted in Baking/Cooking by R @ Learning As I Chop on August 28, 2011

As you may remember from here and here, I had been having a hard time making a cake. I wanted to fashion my first two-layer, fully frosted creation, but the bottoms kept sticking to the pans. Determined to solve this problem, H and I ventured to a local cooking store and left with these two babes:

I was hesitant to use silicone in baking but the clerk made two very persuasive points. First, lots of cooking items are now being made with silicone. Not the strongest argument (didn’t we once use asbestos?) but she also remarked that baby bottles have silicone as well. I figured if it’s safe enough for our little ones, it’s safe enough for us. Second, since I’m not a professional baker, I won’t be using these pans every day. Every once in a while should be fine. I’m happy to report that they worked very well.

As I’m sure you know, the East Coast is prepping for a visit by a little lady named Irene. Though I baked and frosted the cake, H asked to decorate. How could I deny such a request? In response, he made a little joke.

I can’t wait to dig-in! In the meantime, wherever you are, stay safe and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

