Learning As I Chop

A Special Place

Posted in Farmers Markets, Gardening/Plants by R @ Learning As I Chop on September 13, 2011

While H and I were in the Berkshires, we stayed close to Gould Farm. Not only is Gould Farm a regular working farm, it’s the first residential therapeutic community in the nation dedicated to helping adults with mental illness move toward recovery, health and greater independence through community living, meaningful work and individual clinical care. To learn more, visit their site. Besides the great mission, they make wonderful food. My personal favorite is the homemade cheddar cheese. I probably ate three blocks in one week. (Dairy is my #1 pregnancy craving.) Let’s visit the grounds.

Fresh tomatoes on the vine

During the weekend, the farm runs a small coffee-shop on site but provides a self-service cafe during the week. Here are some offerings.

I especially love the honor system. This would never work in NYC.

But the motto is probably my favorite part of the whole place. I think some good words to live by. Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anna @ On Anna's Plate said, on September 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    What a cool place!!


Leave a Reply

